WAC Puts Expansion Talks on Hold

DENVER – WAC commissioner Karl Benson announced today that the WAC will delay any expansion of its membership until July 1, 2012 at the earliest.  This means that for the 2011-12 season, the WAC will operate as an eight-team league that consists of Fresno State, Hawai‘i, Idaho, Louisiana Tech, Nevada, New Mexico State, San Jose State and Utah State.

“The WAC and its eight member schools remain well positioned for the future,” said Benson.  “Over the past few weeks, the WAC’s Board of Directors and athletics directors have explored several membership options.  We believe it is in the best interest of the WAC to operate as an eight-team league for the 2011-12 season.  We will now take several months to ‘drill down’ on the various membership options before making any decisions that would impact the 2012-13 season.”

Read more…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *