PSU 1986 National Champs to be Honored

Nittany Lions’ Unbeaten 1986 National Championship Squad to be Honored at Iowa Game

Penn State Squad Beat No. 1 Miami for National Title in Epic 1987 Fiesta Bowl

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa.; June 17, 2011 – The Nittany Lions’ 1986 National Championship football team, one of the most outstanding squads in Penn State’s storied gridiron history, will be reunited at the Oct. 8 Big Ten home opener against Iowa in Beaver Stadium.

The 1986 Nittany Lions recorded an unblemished 12-0 record after defeating No. 1 Miami (Fla.) in a thrilling title clash en route to their second national championship in four years under Coach Joe Paterno. The 2011 season marks the 25th anniversary of Penn State’s memorable championship run.

The 1986 season was capped by Penn State’s epic 14-10, down to the wire victory over Miami in the Fiesta Bowl. In the “Duel

Read more…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *